skip to Main Content

The Looking Glass

The Locket Trilogy

“It is silent now, the blizzard has paused and left the moment still. I think about them both at such times — roaming the shadowlands of remembrance amidst the shards of my broken heart.”
Hunter Bell’s diary


The Looking Glass, the second book of The Locket Trilogy, is aptly named, for it is about seeing the reality of ourselves: to see a true reflection of who we are.

It is the story of Hunter Bell, a Presbyterian minister turned gambler and the founder of a gold camp named Bethel. (Which you may remember was Esther’s hometown in The Locket.) He is running from the bitter memories of his past, his ministry, and ultimately, from his God.

Venturing into a blizzard to chase away wolves drawn close to his cabin by hunger, Hunter finds a beautiful young woman in the snow, wounded by the wolves and half dead with the cold. Her name is Quaye McGandley, and she is an Irish woman sold into marital slavery to a brutal husband who brought her to America against her will. As Hunter nurses her back to health, he finds that his tender ministrations to Quaye have opened his heart to his greatest fear– that he might love again.

ISBN: 0684867818
Published November 1999
Simon & Schuster

“This ‘story of redemption’ will undoubtedly find its audience.” – Publishers Weekly

“Evans whips up the sort of dramatic intensity he has perfected, and which his legions of fans seem to love.” – Booklist

The Looking Glass contains some of my favorite ‘Diary Entries’ of any of my books. This is, perhaps, the most popular of them: “We see through a glass darkly—but no glass is as dark as the looking glass in which we see ourselves.”

Back To Top
×Close search